Tag Archives: 2014

CWA Dagger in the Library 2014 Longlist

The longlist for the Crime Writers’ Association’s Dagger in the Library has been announced on Random House’s Dead Good Books site. Click on the pic for further information.


  • MC Beaton (Constable & Robinson)
  • Tony Black (Black and White Publishing)
  • Sharon Bolton (Transworld Publishers)
  • Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
  • Mari Hannah (Pan)
  • James Oswald (Michael Joseph)
  • Phil Rickman (Corvus)
  • Leigh Russell (No Exit Press)
  • Mel Sherratt (Thomas & Mercer)
  • Neil White (Sphere)

Institut Français du Royaume-Uni: Noir Is the Colour 2014



The Institut Français du Royaume-Uni in London has announced that the King of Crime John Harvey & Prix Goncourt Winner Pierre Lemaitre will launch Noir Is the Colour, a new series about crime fiction at the Institut Français du Royaume-Uni on 29 May 2014. This festival runs on ad hoc days until it closes on 26 June 2014. Click on either pic below to visit the website. On twitter, follow @ifru_london and keep an eye on or tweet with the tag #NoirColour for this festival.



Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2014 Shortlist

BaileysWomensPrizeForFictionThe shortlist for the Baileys Women’s Prize of Fiction 2014 was announced earlier this evening:

  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah (Fourth Estate)
  • Hannah Kent – Burial Rites (Picador)
  • Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland (Bloomsbury)
  • Audrey Magee – The Undertaking (Atlantic Books)
  • Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing (Galley Beggar/Faber and Faber)
  • Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch (Little, Brown).

BAFTA TV Awards 2014 Nominations

The BAFTA TV Awards 2014 nominations have been announced today and we can see crime drama featuring yet again. The awards ceremony will be held on Sunday 18 May. Nominations:


  • Jamie Dornan, The Fall – BBC Two
  • Sean Harris, Southcliffe – Channel 4
  • Luke Newberry, In The Flesh – BBC Three
  • Dominic West, Burton and Taylor – BBC Four


  • Helena Bonham Carter, Burton and Taylor – BBC Four
  • Olivia Colman, Broadchurch – ITV
  • Kerrie Hayes, The Mill – Channel 4
  • Maxine Peake, The Village – BBC One


  • David Bradley, Broadchurch – ITV
  • Jerome Flynn, Ripper Street – BBC One
  • Nico Mirallegro, The Village – BBC One
  • Rory Kinnear, Southcliffe – Channel 4


  • Shirley Henderson, Southcliffe – Channel 4
  • Sarah Lancashire, Last Tango in Halifax – BBC One
  • Claire Rushbrook, My Mad Fat Diary – E4
  • Nicola Walker, Last Tango in Halifax – BBC One


  • An Adventure in Space and Time, Mark Gatiss, Matt Strevens, Terry McDonough, Caroline Skinner – BBC Wales/BBC America/BBC Two
  • Black Mirror: Be Rightr Back, Barney Reisz, Charlie Brooker, Owen Harris – Zeppotron/Channel 4
  • Complicit, Guy Hibbert, Niall MacCormick, Kevin Toolis, Jolyon Symonds – Many River Films/Channel 4
  • The Wipers Times, David Parfitt, Andy De Emmony, Ian Hislop, Nick Newman – Trademark Films/BBC Two


  • The Fall, Allan Cubitt, Jakob Verbruggen, Julian Stevens, Gub Neil – Fables Lts/Artists Studio/BBC Two
  • The Great Train Robbery, Production Team – World Productions/BBC One
  • In the Flesh, Hilary Martin, Ann Harrison-Baxter, Dominic Mitchell, Jonny Campbell – BBC Drama Production Salford/BBC America/BBC Three
  • Southcliffe, Tony Grisoni, Sean Durkin, Peter Carlton, Derrin Schlesinger – Warp Films/ Channel 4


  • Broadchurch, Production Team – Kudos and Imaginary Friends (a co-production)/ITV
  • My Mad Fat Diary, Tom Bidwell, Greg Brennan, Roanna Benn, Jude Liknaitzky – Tiger Aspect Productions/E4
  • Top of the Lake, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning, Jane Campion, Philippa Campbell – See-Saw Films/BBC Two
  • The Village, Production Team – Company Pictures/BBC One


  • Borgen, Adam Price, Tobias Lindholm, Jannik Johansen, Camilla Hammerich – DR/BBC Four
  • Breaking Bad, Vince Gilligan, Mark Johnson, George Mastras, Sam Catlin – High Bridge Productions, Inc. and Gran Via Productions in association with Sony Pictures Television/Netflix
  • House of Cards, Beau Willimon, David Fincher, Joshua Donen, Kevin Spacey – Donen/Fincher/Roth and Trigger Street Productions, Inc. in association with Media Rights Capital for Netflix/Netflix
  • The Returned, Caroline Benjo, Fabrice Gobert – Haut et Court/Channel 4

RADIO TIMES AUDIENCE AWARD (voted for by members of the public)

  • Breaking Bad
  • Broadchurch
  • Doctor Who: Day of the Doctor
  • Educating Yorkshire
  • Gogglebox
  • The Great British Bake Off

Further (non-crime drama) nominations follow the ‘read more’ link: Continue reading

2014 Desmond Elliott Prize Longlist Announced

The longlist for this year’s Desmond Elliott Prize was announced today.

DEPrize‘Launched in 2007, The Desmond Elliott Prize has quickly become established as the premier prize for new fiction.

Every year, a panel of three judges are asked to look for a novel which has a compelling narrative, arresting characters and which is both vividly written and confidently realised. Books from all fiction genres are considered.

Worth £10,000 to the winner, the Prize is intended to support new writers and to celebrate their fiction. It was created in memory of the charismatic publisher and literary agent Desmond Elliott, who died in August 2003. He stipulated that his estate should be invested in a charitable trust that would fund a literary award “to enrich the careers of new writers”.’

This year’s longlist comprises:

  • The Letter Bearer by Robert Allison (Granta)
  • Idiopathy by Sam Byers (Fourth Estate)
  • Meeting the English by Kate Clanchy (Picador)
  • The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer (HarperCollins)
  • Sedition by Katharine Grant (Virago)
  • The Dynamite Room by Jason Hewitt (Simon & Schuster)
  • A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Galley Beggar Press)
  • The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland)
  • Marriage Material by Sathnam Sanghera (William Heinemann)
  • Ballistics by D. W. Wilson (Bloomsbury).

All Alone This Valentine’s Day?


Are you all alone this Valentine’s Day?  Still single after that “Dear John” missive you received yesterday?  (We live in a fast world these days.)  There is absolutely no need to feel teary and alone.  Connect with readers and put pen to paper or fingers on a keyboard and enter the Flashbang Contest for flash crime fiction.  Check out this year’s prizes here.

flashbang3You could, of course, spend your Valentine’s evening writing really bad poetry.  But with a competition like Flashbang you could be inspired instead.


Flashbang 2014 Contest!

flashbang3Starting the year as you mean to go on?  Writing crime?  Why not use those quiet moments to write some flash fiction?  The Flashbang 2014 Contest is now open and you have until 3 March 2014 to submit your entries.  All prizes this year are CrimeFest-related:

  • 1st prize is two weekend passes to CrimeFest 2015 (access to all interviews, panels and receptions; excludes accommodation, food, refreshments and travel).
  • 2nd prize is one weekend pass to CrimeFest 2015.
  • 3rd prize is a special CrimeFest delegate bag containing books and other goodies.

Get them rolling in and good luck!