It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

Category Archives: Literary Prizes


Announced tonight, the winners: ●     The Best Actress Dagger Keeley Hawes, Line of Duty ●     The Best Actor Dagger Matthew McConaughey, True Detective ●     The Specsavers ITV3 Crime Thriller Book … Continue reading

October 24, 2014

Shortlists for the CWA Gold, John Creasey (New Blood) and Ian Fleming Steel Daggers 2014

Announced today, the shortlists are: The CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year: o The First Rule of Survival by Paul Mendelson (Constable) o How the … Continue reading

September 2, 2014

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2014 Shortlist

The shortlist for the Baileys Women’s Prize of Fiction 2014 was announced earlier this evening: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah (Fourth Estate) Hannah Kent – Burial Rites (Picador) Jhumpa Lahiri … Continue reading

April 7, 2014

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2014 Longlist Announcement

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced its longlist and the judges will now work on reducing this list to six for the shortlist, before choosing an overall winner … Continue reading

March 7, 2014

The Inaugural 2014 Folio Prize Shortlist Announced

The shortlist of eight books for the inaugural Folio Prize has been announced today. The prize is open to English language writers from all over the world and includes poetry, … Continue reading

February 10, 2014

Costa Book Awards 2013 Winners Announced 28 January 2014

2013 Costa Novel Award Kate Atkinson for Life After Life (Doubleday) 2013 Costa First Novel Award Nathan Filer for The Shock of the Fall (HarperCollins) 2013 Costa Biography Award Lucy … Continue reading

January 28, 2014

2014 MWA Edgar Nominations Announced

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the nominations for the 2014 Edgar Awards which you can see at this link.  Or you can download the press release here (pdf … Continue reading

January 16, 2014 · 2 Comments

UK National Book Awards Winners 2013

The winners of the UK’s Specsavers National Book Awards 2013 have been announced and awarded tonight and are listed below.  The public vote or the Specsavers National Book of the … Continue reading

December 11, 2013

Costa Book Awards 2013: Shortlists Revealed

2013 Costa Novel Award shortlist Kate Atkinson for Life After Life (Doubleday) Bernardine Bishop for Unexpected Lessons in Love (John Murray) Maggie O’Farrell for Instructions for a Heatwave (Tinder Press) … Continue reading

November 26, 2013

The Shortlist for the 2013 Bad Sex in Fiction Prize from the Literary Review

The shortlist for the UK’s most dreaded literary prize – the 21st annual award for the most embarrassing passage of sexual description in a novel – is now out and … Continue reading

November 8, 2013