Heads Up: Some Goodies with Reviews Coming Soon #SummerReads

Time can be a bit limited now and again. Hence the reason the book reviews are slow on here at the moment. But, here’s a “heads up” post just in case you are about to embark on your hols and need something to read. Click on the images to get to Amazon.

These three have restored my faith in crime fiction this year. They offer something different with a focus on the victim. Both are stunning reads.

An ordinary case with extraordinary people.

An ordinary case with extraordinary people.

Gripping, thought-provoking,

Gripping, thought-provoking,

Classic crime from a strong new voice.

Classic crime from a strong new voice.

Non-stop page-turning domestic thrillers, with Paula Daly offering a quite remarkable ending.

Manipulation weaves its power ...

Manipulation weaves its power …

Once picked up can only be put down at the end.

Once picked up can only be put down at the end.

Two crime series, two sets of quite different locations. One consummate storyteller with an eye for culture.

Sensitive to culture & enlightening.

Sensitive to culture & enlightening.

Modern day Christie.

Modern day Christie.

16 thoughts on “Heads Up: Some Goodies with Reviews Coming Soon #SummerReads

  1. cleopatralovesbooks

    What fantastic examples you’ve chosen. Paula Daly is my find of the year, I have now read both of her books. I now need to see what I have been missing by not having read Long Way Home.

        1. crimeficreader Post author

          Ah. I once hoped to get a job there but it never came off at the time. Will keep you posted on a new festival over the coming year, just in case you like to travel …

  2. crimeworm

    Thanks for a great guide! I’ve got Letters To My Daughter’s Killer, Long Way Home, and The Accident as ARCs, so you’ve greatly helped me sort the wheat from the chaff!

  3. MarinaSofia

    Wonderful selection, Rhian! Happy to say that I’ve got them all on my list, either recently read or to be read, except for the latest Cath Staincliffe (I have another of hers loaded on my tablet though). A friend of mine who knows I love cross-cultural references recommended Barbara Nadel about 4 years ago and it was a brilliant discovery – I think I’ve read all of the back catalogue by now.

      1. crimeworm

        I MUST get round to reading her; I see her books everywhere but I’m supposed to be on a diet read the stacks (Thank God he hasn’t seen what’s in the Kindle – it’s been the perfect foil!) Her books never tend to be on offer, which I guess underlines how popular she is!

  4. kathy d.

    Oh, gosh, more books. I don’t know whether to grin or sigh. So many books, and I haven’t had time to read lately. Will write them all down on my TBR list.

  5. kathy d.

    I must say in my defense that I have watched a lot of good dvd’s lately, including of the De Luca trilogy mentioned at Eurocrime (plus prequel). Found it quite interesting, and learned a bit about post-WWII Italy. Sometimes it’s easier to watch dvd’s than to read. (Also, I desperately need new glasses, am reading around permanent splotches on the lens.)
    I appreciate that you list recent posts so I can come back to them. (But all those blogs, more adventures to uncover. And no wonder I’m not reading. Between dvd’s and great
    book websites to discover, I’ve no time!)

Comments are closed.