It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

2014 Desmond Elliott Prize Longlist Announced

The longlist for this year’s Desmond Elliott Prize was announced today.

DEPrize‘Launched in 2007, The Desmond Elliott Prize has quickly become established as the premier prize for new fiction.

Every year, a panel of three judges are asked to look for a novel which has a compelling narrative, arresting characters and which is both vividly written and confidently realised. Books from all fiction genres are considered.

Worth £10,000 to the winner, the Prize is intended to support new writers and to celebrate their fiction. It was created in memory of the charismatic publisher and literary agent Desmond Elliott, who died in August 2003. He stipulated that his estate should be invested in a charitable trust that would fund a literary award “to enrich the careers of new writers”.’

This year’s longlist comprises:

  • The Letter Bearer by Robert Allison (Granta)
  • Idiopathy by Sam Byers (Fourth Estate)
  • Meeting the English by Kate Clanchy (Picador)
  • The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer (HarperCollins)
  • Sedition by Katharine Grant (Virago)
  • The Dynamite Room by Jason Hewitt (Simon & Schuster)
  • A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Galley Beggar Press)
  • The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland)
  • Marriage Material by Sathnam Sanghera (William Heinemann)
  • Ballistics by D. W. Wilson (Bloomsbury).

2 comments on “2014 Desmond Elliott Prize Longlist Announced

  1. FictionFan
    April 4, 2014

    Sadly, I’ve neither read nor heard of any of these! It was interesting to look back at the longlists from previous years – a few of them seem to have come through to the mainstream, but I confess many of them have passed me by completely. Of course, that may say more about me than it does about the books.

  2. crimeficreader
    April 4, 2014

    The Nathan Filer recently won the Costa for debut novel:
    I am aware of “A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing” but that’s probably because of the original title.
    But this award is for a debut so it’s very unlikely you will have heard of them, FictionFan. When I have a bit more time I think I will look back at previous years too. It’s always interesting to see who makes an impact later and/or sustains their original impact. I find the CWA’s John Creasey Dagger Award the same.

Comments are closed.


This entry was posted on April 3, 2014 by in Author News, Awards, Book News, Publishing News and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: