It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2014 Longlist Announcement

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced its longlist and the judges will now work on reducing this list to six for the shortlist, before choosing an overall winner to be announced on 4 June 2014.

StranglerVine[Crime lovers may like to note the inclusion of India-set historical crime novel The Strangler Vine from M J Carter and the Iceland-set Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.]

ReasonsDKDBaileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist:

  • Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah
  • Margaret Atwood – MaddAddam
  • Suzanne Berne –  The Dogs of Littlefield
  • Fatima Bhutto – The Shadow of the Crescent Moon
  • Claire Cameron –  The Bear
  • Lea Carpenter – Eleven Days
  • M.J. Carter – The Strangler Vine
  • BurialRitesEleanor Catton – The Luminaries
  • Deborah Kay Davies – Reasons She Goes to the Woods
  • Elizabeth Gilbert – The Signature of All Things
  • Hannah Kent – Burial Rites
  • Rachel Kushner – The Flamethrowers
  • Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland
  • GoldfinchAudrey Magee – The Undertaking
  • Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing
  • Charlotte Mendelson – Almost English
  • Anna Quindlen – Still Life with Bread Crumbs
  • Elizabeth Strout – The Burgess Boys
  • Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch
  • Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing.


This entry was posted on March 7, 2014 by in Author News, Awards, Book News, Literary Prizes and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: