Festive Quiz 2012 – Name That Author!

Assistant Editor Aurelio Festive Column

Assistant Editor Aurelio’s Festive Column 2012

Ciao, my bellas!  Here’s the 2012 Festive Quiz for which the prize is simply kudos.  Compiled by yours truly, you may find the odd felicitous feline in there: some a little nervous, some heroic.  (But I’ve balanced this out with a dog looking pretty stupid.  She who is in charge says the dog looks lovely.  Her eye test is on Friday.)  All these pictures have been tweeted by the authors who are British or Irish.  But who are they?

I’ll give you the answers on 25 December after I’ve had my turkey feast.  This gives you about three weeks to do your research and leave your author name answers!  I will award you *Aurelio Stars* as I see fit.  (I may also disqualify naughty entrants.)  Have fun my bellas!

Here we go…

1. “Sensing a theme in the mug cupboard… #lifeofcrime”  This author’s husband is a criminal barrister and her series protagonist is a young woman working in the Met.  By my reckoning, that kitchen may have seen some burning in its time and I think there’s a mug missing from the cupboard…

QP1

2. This author’s a complete devotee of Snoopy, seen here guarding the paperback editions of his third novel. Known for his tight budgets on haircuts, he has more than one link to monasteries.

QP2

3. This author’s tom cat is never alone, having a gorgeous female companion in the form of Puddy.  They are not too sure about the rain here.  Said author may also include cats in her novels in loving prose…

QP3

4. This author had to dispose of what you see on the bottom left after his “butter wouldn’t melt” cat had executed an efficient killing.  Rumour has it the mouse was called Cupid.

Do I look like a vicious killing machine?

Do I look like a vicious killing machine?

5. “Fergus can do many things, but Scary is probably not one of them.”  As you can see, Fergus is merrily awaiting Christmas but who’s his master?

QP5

6. When heading out in a morning, this author likes to tweet you a pic of the road from over the bonnet.  Her female Newcastle-based DCI protagonist travels on the same roads up in the north.

QP6

7.  This author was extremely pleased when she finally located a picture of the cigarettes of her protagonist.  As you can see, they are not run of the mill.  The same may be said of the protagonist who may travel but is never far from the sinning crowds.

QP7

8. On the fourth day of Christmas this author has a tendency to read the riot act before heading out for some snow sculpting.  Doesn’t she do well?

QP8

9. “My new toy, a little Pocket Stove. This is my first brew of tea on it. Lovely!”  This author recently dragged himself out of the medieval period with a contemporary thriller, but he still prefers an old fashioned brew.

QP9

10. “The old Leeds merchant’s house (built 1720) where I ate fish & chips…”  Who might be interested in researching here and has a link with Nottingham?

QP10

11 thoughts on “Festive Quiz 2012 – Name That Author!

  1. Sarah

    This is hard Rhian. I definitely know number 2 and I think I know number 6. Fergus can come to my house any time he likes.

  2. crimeficreader

    Additional clue: this set may contain an outrageously high proportion of historical crime novelists. (c 35%, where the 5% relates an author with more than one established series.)

Comments are closed.