It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

Dylan Thomas Prize 2012 – Winner

American author Maggie Shipstead has won the £30,000 annual Dylan Thomas Prize with her debut novel Seating Arrangements.

The shortlisted books:

  • Tom Benn’s crime fiction debut The Doll Princess (Vintage)
  • Andrea Eames’s The White Shadow (Harvill Secker)
  • Chibundu Onuzo’s The Spider King’s Daughter (Faber)
  • D W Wilson’s collection of short stories Once You Break a Knuckle (Bloomsbury).

More information, including an interview with the author, can be found here on the BBC Wales website.

Launched in 2006, the annual Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the most prestigious awards for young writers in the world. It is an international literary award aimed at encouraging raw creative talent worldwide. Established in response to the enormous international phenomenon of new writing by young authors, the Prize recognises the obvious ambitions of those writers as reflected in the marked popularity of creative writing classes.  At £30,000, the Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the largest literary awards in the world.

You can find out more about the prize here.



This entry was posted on November 10, 2012 by in Author News, Awards, Book News, Literary Prizes and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: