Preview – Gone Again by Doug Johnstone

Coming on 7 March 2013 in trade paperback from Faber and Faber, I picked up the proof earlier today and can tell you this is very gripping.  I thought I’d just get acquainted with the style through a couple of pages and before I knew it I was skimming ahead with great urgency.  (At which point a great deal of discipline had to be applied.)  From the Faber catalogue:

In the tradition of The Vanishing and Tell No One comes a brilliant, guess-until-the-very-end psychological thriller.  ‘It’s just to say that no-one has come to pick Nathan up from school, and we were wondering if there was a problem of some kind?’

As Mark Douglas photographs a pod of whales stranded in the waters off Edinburgh’s Portobello Beach, he is called by his son’s school: his wife, Lauren, hasn’t turned up to collect their son.  Calm at first, Mark collects Nathan and takes him home but as the hours slowly crawl by he increasingly starts to worry.

With brilliantly controlled reveals, we learn some of the painful secrets of the couple’s shared past, not least that it isn’t the first time Lauren has disappeared. And as Mark struggles to care for his son and shield him from the truth of what’s going on, the police seem dangerously short of leads. That is, until a shocking discovery…

Following Hit and Run (a no.1 Kindle bestseller and a 2012 Fiction Uncovered pick) and Smokeheads (shortlisted for the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award), Gone Again is Doug Johnstone’s darkest and most emotionally charged thriller yet.

Here’s the Amazon UK link for future reference.  Find out more about the author here and on twitter @doug_johnstone.