It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

Michael Connelly wins the sixth RBA Novela Negra Prize in 2012

In its sixth year in 2012, Spanish publishing company RBA’s Novela Negra Prize this year goes to Michael Connelly for La caja negra (The Black Box).  [At the moment, news of the award is in Spanish only on the RBA site.]

Since RBA established this prize – which offers the world’s largest monetary prize money for the genre – the winner has been announced on the first Thursday of September.  The prize money of €125,000 is for the best unpublished work in the genre, recognising the confidence RBA has in its authors – both well-known and those waiting to be discovered.  The competition is open to works written in any language with a translation into Spanish or English.  The prior year winners are:

  • 2011 – Patricia Cornwell, Niebla roja
  • 2010 – Harlan Coben, Alta Tensión
  • 2009 – Philip Kerr, Si los muertos no resucitan
  • 2008 – Andrea Camilleri, La muerte de Amalia Sacerdote
  • 2007 – Francisco González Ledesma, Una novela de barrio.

[Hat-tip to Jose Ignacio at The Game’s Afoot for the heads-up on the announcement.]


One comment on “Michael Connelly wins the sixth RBA Novela Negra Prize in 2012

  1. Jose Ignacio
    September 7, 2012

    Thank you Rhian

Comments are closed.


This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Awards, Crime fiction and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: