Kindling at Christmas

In addition to the Kindle Daily Deal, Amazon currently have a seasonal promotion, the 12 Days of Kindle.  I am still struggling with setting up the Kindle – the manual needs to be read – but here’s a peak at what’s sitting on mine at the moment and some of the deals I have taken advantage of.

All these are at 99p at the time of writing and this is the price I achieved.  Mark Forsyth’s The Etymologicon looks like a fascinating read for word lovers and it will add to the fun I have with the Merriam Webster app on my mobile phone.  John Lawton’s Black Out will allow me the pleasure of convenient re-reading this wonderful novel, without fingering the pages of my prized and adored existing copies.  I have seen fabulous reviews of Ben Hatch’s Are We Nearly There Yet? which promise a read combining comedy with a poignant memoir regarding family.

I have seen John Harding’s Florence and Giles described as a gothic thriller.  This is what caught my eye: “In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself – and narrates this, her story – in a unique language of her own invention.”  Florence’s own language mixes the uses of verbs and nouns and you can find this in extracts online.  This looks like a beautiful novel to get stuck into. (Dive in now for a 99p opportunity.)

Athill’s Yesterday Morning: A Very English Childhood adds to my Athill collection.  Her memoirs are always very direct and her use of English inspiring and a reminder of how wonderful prose can be.   (Also 99p right now.)    I managed to purchase Marika Cobbold’s latest novel Drowning Rose for £1.29 in the Daily Deal but it’s now back up to £6.83.  The story centres on friendship and I have seen both excellent reviews and much twitter raving on this one.  I have been meaning to catch up with Cobbold for some time and this is an opportunity not to be missed.

David Harrison’s Sins of the Father comes in at £1.71 and it’s his debut novel, published by Crème de la Crime at the time.  He has since moved on and I am not the only one to have enjoyed all his thrillers written for Preface under the name Tom Bale.  The Kindle ebook gives me the chance to catch up with his first.  Jake Wallis Simons’s The English German Girl has been on my radar for some time.  The Times said that this “well-researched and very moving novel is dedicated to the children of the Kindertransport and is a fine tribute to their bravery” and I didn’t want to miss it (99p).  Richard Zimler’s Warsaw Anagrams has been described as a “profoundly moving and darkly atmospheric historical thriller” that takes “the reader … into the most forbidden corners of Nazi-occupied Warsaw, as well as into the most heroic places of the heart.”  It’s £1.99 at the moment and I feel sure my sample will turn into a full purchase.

The last three are all samples awaiting conversion to the full blown works.  Self-published novels and novellas do need a good sift through the quality sieve, but some are very successful and lead to traditional publishing deals.  Ben Cheetham’s 98p Blood Guilt has certainly been successful and sits at #3 for thrillers and #1 for hard-boiled in the Kindle fiction store (at the time of writing).  Its story asks “Is it ever truly possible to atone for killing someone?”  Finally, this leads me to the two Mark Capell samples which I also intend to investigate…

2 thoughts on “Kindling at Christmas

    1. crimeficreader Post author

      I feel blessed to be honest! Will now need the discipline of sticking with one to the end before starting another. But these are some of my reads when not reading Creasey submissions!

Comments are closed.