It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

Bad Sex in Literature Award (Literary Review) 2011 Shortlist

Yes, it’s that time of year again: time when the descriptions of exchanges of body fluids that make you go ‘Eurgh’ are to be acknowledged.  Some might say celebrated.  From The Huffington Post UK, the full-length list of books nominated so far is:

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

On Canaan’s Side by Sebastian Barry

The Final Testament of the Holy Bible by James Frey

Parallel Stories by Péter Nádas

11.22.63 by Stephen King

Ed King by David Guterson

The Land of Painted Caves by Jean M Auel

The Affair by Lee Child

Dead Europe by Christos Tsiolkas

Outside the Ordinary World by Dori Ostermiller

Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

The Great Night by Chris Adrian.

Apparently, Lee Child’s shortlisting is due to this:

‘Faster, harder, faster, harder. The room began to shake. Just faintly at first, like a mild constant tremor, like the edge of a far distant earthquake. The French door trembled in its frame. A glass rattled on the bathroom shelf. The floor quivered. The hall door creaked and shuttered. My shoes hopped and moved. The bedhead hammered against the wall. The floor shook hard. The walls boomed. Coins in my abandoned pocket tinkled.’

Well we know how the surrounding structures reacted.

The winner will be announced on December 6.  Again, the ceremony is at the Naval & Military Club in London, also known as ‘The In and Out Club’.

Thanks to an article in the Guardian in September, we have the list of previous winners thanks to Rick Gekoski:

1993: Melvin Bragg, A Time to Dance

1994: Philip Hook, The Stonebreakers

1995: Philip Kerr, Gridiron

1996: David Huggins, The Big Kiss: An Arcade Mystery

1997: Nicholas Royle, The Matter of the Heart

1998: Sebastian Faulks, Charlotte Gray

1999: AA Gill, Starcrossed

2000: Sean Thomas, Kissing England

2001: Christopher Hart, Rescue Me

2002: Wendy Perriam, Tread Softly

2003: Aniruddha Bahal, Bunker 13

2004: Tom Wolfe, I Am Charlotte Simmons

2005: Giles Coren, Winkler

2006: Iain Hollingshead, Twenty Something

2007: Norman Mailer, The Castle in the Forest

2008: Rachel Johnson, Shire Hell; John Updike, Lifetime Achievement award

2009: Jonathan Littell, The Kindly Ones

2010: Rowan Somerville, The Shape of Her

Keep an eye on @Lit_Review on twitter from some excerpts…



This entry was posted on November 22, 2011 by in Awards.