Daily Telegraph’s Top 5 Crime Novels 2011

Following on from yesterday’s post on the top 5 thrillers, we now have a pic of the crime novels (again, not online yet).  For clarity, the top 5 for crime are:
1 Daddy’s Girl – Margie Orford
2 White Dog – Peter Temple
3 Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter – Tom Franklin
4 The End of the Wasp Season – Denis Mina
5 The Fatal Touch – Conor Fitzgerald

And again, thanks to @Whyjay99 for the pic.

*Update*: Denise Mina’s The End of the Wasp Season has just won this year’s Martin Beck Award.

17 thoughts on “Daily Telegraph’s Top 5 Crime Novels 2011

  1. crimeficreader Post author

    Mrs P, you have an odd link there with that comment. An old blog?

    I’d go with the Conor Fitzgerald. To date, I have only read his first which was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: The Dogs of Rome. His protag is cop is American by birth, but Italy is his adoptive country. The one listed is the second in the series and a third is on its way in 2012. The Irish Fitzgerald now lives in Italy – by way of the US – so he knows his stuff and Alec Blume is a very credible character.

    I have heard excellent things about the Tom Franklin (CWA Gold Dagger winner 2011) and the Denis Mina (shortlisted for the same award).

    I believe Margie Orford’s novels need something of a strong stomach. She’s not afraid to approach the most horrible violence in South Africa. I found her first a difficult read, but hope to catch up with this one. I am told she keeps getting better.

    1. Mrs P.

      Thanks for pointing out the incorrect link – yes, an old blog and I’ve now updated! Thanks too for your tour of the top 5 – much appreciated. Will start with the Fitzgerald as you suggest – sounds very interesting.

  2. Gareth

    ‘Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter’ is the only one I’ve read (yet), and it is indeed excellent.

    I have the Denise Mina on my pile too (incidentally it’s actually ‘The End of the Wasp Season’), and I’m looking forward to it.

  3. Maxine

    I’ve read two of them, enjoyed both, but Crooked Letter x2 is something special, and I’d recommend it to anyone. It is superb. (Not really a crime novel, though, just a novel.)

  4. Marianne Wheelaghan (@MWheelaghan)

    Hi Thanks for highlighting these top five thrillers and top five crime novels. Look like great reads, and always helps to read the other comments. Might start with Fatal Touch, move onto the Denis Mina and then ‘Crooked letter, crooked letter – well, that’s the plan at the moment!
    Cheers🙂

  5. DJ´s krimiblog

    I have not read any of them yet, but I am very tempted by Crooked Letter, and if Denise Mina is in her best shape here, I´ll have to read about those wasps.

    When? Perhaps in another life – 130 books later or so…

  6. Pingback: Podcast: Have a Krimi Xmas with Margie Orford’s Gallows Hill and More | Jonathan Ball

Comments are closed.