Sister – Rosamund Lupton

If you haven’t heard of this book then you must have been in a coma.  Longlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger, a massive commercial success, a Sunday Times bestseller, it was also one of the selected books for the first Richard & Judy WHSmith book club promotions in the UK.  Its success is no surprise as it’s really rather good.  It has a strong new voice and is refreshingly original in its structure where its narrator, Beatrice, is addressing her missing sister Tess.

In New York, Beatrice receives a phone call telling her that her younger sister Tess is missing, and with no hesitation she returns to London.  Born of the same parents but worlds apart in life, Beatrice’s probing leads her to discover that she actually knew little of Tess’s life.  Where the police, their mother and Beatrice’s fiancé accept the loss of Tess, Beatrice does not and her journey to discover the truth proves to be a dangerous one…

Above all, this is an emotionally engaging novel, visceral in tone, and with Beatrice’s journey becoming the reader’s own experience.  It’s a novel that demands an uninterrupted read and haunts in the memory, still wrenching at the guts of the reader long after the final page.

And if you feel I have given you little here: that’s my goal.  You need to read Sister to appreciate it.

Find out more about the author here and buy at Amazon here.

5 thoughts on “Sister – Rosamund Lupton

  1. Maxine

    I thought this book was very good – I picked it up randomly in WHS last year as there was another book I wanted to buy and this one was part of a buy two get one for a £ type of offer. I thought the crime elements were not as well done as the beautiful character descriptions of the sisters and the family relationships. The author has a new title out now so I shall probably get around to that sometime.

  2. nettiewriter

    I wondered about this one. I picked it up, but the cover put me off. I think I expected it to read more like a ‘woman’s book’ and I don’t, on the whole, enjoy those. Maybe I’ll add it to my Wish List. Thanks, Rhian.

    1. crimeficreader Post author

      The cover probably sums it up well, Nettie. See also Maxine’s comment. It’s more emotionally engaging for the relationships and Beatrice’s mission to discover the truth than it is for its crime element.

  3. Pingback: Sister – Rosamund Lupton – 8/10 | Reading Fuelled By Tea

Comments are closed.