8 thoughts on “Literary Snobbery. Ouch.

  1. Rob

    This was in the Irish Times this weekend – a review of Jane Casey’s The Reckoning:

    “CRIME FICTION is all the rage these days, with critics and fans at pains to argue that the avalanche of hard, violent, cyncial cop thrillers functions as an unflinching reflection of our sick society: This Is Life. But, really, you wouldn’t want to read too much of this stuff, if only because a diet of schlock writing combined with daft, coincidence-laden plotting will leave you too bloated to appreciate the odd nugget of real quality.” http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2011/0730/1224301600447.html

    I read little else other than crime fiction, so I clearly love a diet of schlock writing. Although most of the stuff I read you won’t find on the airport stand.

  2. Yvonne Johnston

    Hmm, I wonder if that reference to Dame Stella’s ‘faltering efforts’ as ‘atrociously bad’ would have been made if his latest novel had made it through to the Booker longlist this year. Indeed would this entire piece have been written at all if it had got through?

    1. crimeficreader Post author

      I suspect we all know the answer to that one. And I suspect the Telegraph has enjoyed stoking the controversy, with the Booker loving the publicity. Let’s hope it translates into sales for the indies and the thrillers. And the rest.

  3. Marcia Applegate

    Love the comments section of most posts. This was a dilly. I’m an American, I review mysteries, thrillers, et al under the guise of mkamysterylady.com. I shall henceforth look for an occasion to use the description “. . . schlock writing combined with daft, coincidence-laden plotting . . . .” Too good not to be cribbed. I ran across your site rather by accident, but I shall return.

  4. Pingback: Opinion: It’s a Crime! (or a mystery . . .) | mkamysterylady

Comments are closed.