It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

CWA Dagger Announcements at Harrogate

Friday night, at Harrogate, the following announcements were made at a reception held by the UK’s Crime Writers’ Assocation.


CWA Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction

The Killer of Little Shepherds by Douglas Starr (Simon & Schuster) – WINNER
In the Place of Justice by Wilbert Rideau (Profile) – honorable mention

CWA International Dagger

Three Seconds by Anders Roslund & Börge Hellström, translated by Kari Dickson (Quercus) – WINNER

CWA Dagger in the Library

Mo Hayder (Bantam Press, Transworld) – WINNER

CWA Short Story Dagger

East of Suez, West of Charing Cross Road by John Lawton from Agents of Treachery – commended
Homework by Phil Lovesey from The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Vol 8 – WINNER
The Dead Club by Michael Palmer & Daniel Palmer from First Thrills – third prize

CWA Debut Dagger

What Hidden Lies – Michelle Rowe (South Africa) – WINNER

The Outrageous Behaviour of Left-Handed Dwarves – Graham Brack (UK) – highly commended

Nominee Lists for the three daggers to be presented at the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards on ITV3 on 7 October (with shortlists announced on 22 August):

Gold Dagger

Tom Franklin: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (Macmillan)
Lucretia Grindle: The Villa Triste (Mantle)
Steve Hamilton: The Lock Artist (Orion)
Mo Hayder: Hanging Hill (Bantam Press)
Michael Koryta: The Cypress House (Hodder & Stoughton)
M. J. McGrath: White Heat (Mantle)
A.D. Miller: Snowdrops (Atlantic Books)
Denise Mina: The End of the Wasp Season (Orion)

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

Conor Fitzgerald, The Dogs of Rome (Bloomsbury)
Sam Hawken, The Dead Women of Juarez (Serpent's Tail)
Elizabeth Haynes, Into the Darkest Corner (Myriad)
Erin Kelly, The Poison Tree (Hodder & Stoughton)
Rosamund Lupton, Sister (Piatkus)
Danny Miller, Kiss Me Quick (Constable & Robinson)
S J Watson, Before I Go To Sleep (Transworld)
Jason Webster, Or the Bull Kills You (Chatto & Windus, Random)

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

Charles Cumming, The Trinity Six (HarperCollins)
Frederick Forsyth, The Cobra (Bantam Press)
Michael Gruber, The Good Son (Atlantic Books)
Steve Hamilton, The Lock Artist (Orion)
Chris Morgan Jones, An Agent of Deceit (Mantle)
Craig Smith, Cold Rain (Myrmidon)
SJ Watson, Before I Go To Sleep (Doubleday)
Don Winslow, Savages (William Heinemann)

Congratulations to all!



This entry was posted on July 24, 2011 by in Author News, Book News, Literary Festivals.