It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

DPD – the courier inspired by Dante’s hell

I had called three numbers – all automated systems and no one to speak to. Hence my parcel remains unidentified.  (I am assuming it’s a book from a publisher at this stage as I have ordered nothing.)  I found the depot number on an internet forum but no one answered.  I tried to arrange redelivery on the site but it was in ‘maintenance’.  Their card says they hold undelivered items for three days only.   The result was that I tweeted this:

DPD is a most absurd company. Why do companies use them? They hold a non-delivery for 3 days only. To arrange a timeslotted re-delivery they charge either £6 or £12 & Saturdays are only available for £12. Collections have to be timeslot booked (they are more important than the Queen’s gynae).  And if I collect I have a 30mile round trip to do…

And this:

So I guess whoever sent me a parcel via DPD wasted their money as I can't be arsed.

The depot to which I’d have to travel is only accessible by car.  I’m lucky I still one have to consider that option, but at 30 miles why should it cost me so much to collect something I am not expecting?  (That said, it might come in at slightly less cost than a delivery to meet my needs.)

I’ll bet DPD presents a very efficient and cost-effective interface for its customers.  However, it fails big time on the follow through service.

So, whoever you are, use this white elephant if you choose, but I am sure I will not be your only undelivered return.  And do enjoy your return when it arrives.

FYI, their charges, quoted exclusive of VAT to make you feel it's cheaper.

035 

2 comments on “DPD – the courier inspired by Dante’s hell

  1. Margot Kinberg
    June 5, 2011

    Yikes!!!

  2. Norm
    June 5, 2011

    At least this company exists! The retirement apartments where my late mother-in -law lived were plagued with phone calls informing the residents of mythical parcels to be collected giving premium phone numbers for the return call.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2011 by in Uncategorized.