It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

CWA Gold, Ian Fleming Steel (Thriller) and John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Winners 2010

003 Well, this year we have some names to watch.  The New Blood is obviously for an author’s debut novel, but we have the same circumstance with the winner of the Gold, and the winner of the Steel is also in the early days of his writing career.  Many congratulations to Ryan David Jahn, Belinda Bauer and Simon Conway respectively.  In addition to finally meeting Ryan, I also met New Blood finalists Simon Lelic and William Ryan.  All are wonderful people and all are writing excellent novels, so please check out their books if you have not already done so.

Sadly, I did not get to meet Diane Janes on the night as the opportunity did not arise.  While it has been noted that Belinda Bauer was the runner-up for the Debut Dagger two years ago, Diane Janes was ‘highly commended’ for the same award in 2006, with the book that became ‘The Pull of the Moon’, on this year’s New Blood shortlist.  Don’t miss this one either.

There is a little controversy brewing over the Gold and New Blood winners.  Both Blacklands and Acts of Violence are capable of polarising opinion; thus I urge you to read them and make up your own mind.

Due to the judging, I didn’t quite find the right time to post up a review of William Ryan’s The Holy Thief.  This will follow shortly.

Enjoy your reading!

[Picture is of the New Blood winner, Ryan David Jahn.]



This entry was posted on October 10, 2010 by in Author Events, Author News, Awards, Book News.