Penguin Crime Drinks and 2010 Titles

I am grateful for the hospitality extended by Penguin Books earlier in March.  The people were lovely, the white wine was wonderfully cool and the canapés were delicious.  It was good to meet up again with the British crime crew and to meet new people.  Here’s a list of books from their Crime & Thriller Hotlist 2010 catalogue:


25 March: Complicit by Nicci French

24 April: Ruso and the Root of All Evils by R. S. Downie

6 May: Play to Kill by P. J. Tracy

24 June: The Lucifer Code by Charles Brokaw

24 June: Scent of a Killer by Kevin Lewis

8 July: Dark Origins by Anthony E. Zuiker
Zuiker is the creator and executive producer of CSI.  From the catalogue: “Readers will be able to view online story-specific ancillary materials like emails, FBI ‘personnel files’, audio clips and psychologists reports – as the series progresses entire storylines and characters will be developed to live in the digital world.”  That’s certainly an innovative approach to marketing…

29 July:  Even Money by Dick and Felix Francis

5 August: Think of a Number by John Verdon
This one is Penguin’s lead thriller publication for summer 2010 and comes from a debut author.  It is said to be in the tradition of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

5 August: Dark Water by Caro Ramsay

26 August: I’m Watching You by Mary Burton
This one is said to be a “perfect alternative for fans of Karen Rose, Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs”.  Also, interestingly, Burton is going to be published every four months to rapidly establish her as one of Penguin’s brand thriller authors.

2 September: Crossfire by Dick and Felix Francis

ATAnat 2 September: The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor
There was much excitement when discussing this novel.  Penguin think it’s his best yet.  Andrew has been working with a new editor for The Anatomy of Ghosts and has a re-packaging this year, so expect to see a new style of cover.  It’s set in 1786 at Jerusalem College Cambridge and is said to be “the most compelling ghost story since Sarah Waters’s Affinity”.

7 October: The Secret Crown by Chris Kuzneski

4 November: The Soul Killers by Chris Mooney

Finally, ones to look out for in 2011 include:

27 January: The Cutting by James Hayman
“A new voice in US suspense fiction.”

3 February: The Dead Tracks by Tim Weaver
The author’s second novel in his Raker series about a missing persons investigator.

26 May: Mercy by Jussi Adler-Olsen
This is quite an event.  Denmark’s bestselling crime author finally hits the UK shores.

3 thoughts on “Penguin Crime Drinks and 2010 Titles

  1. Dorte H

    It is good news that Jussi Adler-Olsen is on his way to you. I have only read one of his crime novels yet, but it was quite good. I have contacted him to get the Danish title of Mercy so I can write a review in May.

Comments are closed.