It's a crime! (Or a mystery…)

PR fails & how to lose customers

And while on the topic of Allison & Busby, Chiara Priorelli, Publicity Manager recently put up a blog post about PR disasters linking to this article on Top ten online PR fails.  It makes for an interesting list as some have had more publicity than others.  I was surprised to see Neal's Yard on there, but Ryanair takes the ginger nut as per usual.  I have never flown with Ryanair, but I have read a lot about them and their business philosophy.  (Think: sort of Neanderthal and pulling people forcibly by their hair, but charging per centimetre for the privilege, in this millennium.  I guess I just joined their ranks of "idiot bloggers" with that comment.)  Do read the list for some fun and learning.  As Chiara says "Why learn the hard way through your own mistakes, when you can skirt disaster by learning from other peoples‘ mistakes?"

2 comments on “PR fails & how to lose customers

  1. kimbofo
    September 4, 2009

    They missed the one about Dooce and her washing machine!

  2. Maxine
    September 6, 2009

    Yes, that was a great story, Kim!
    The older I get, the more I think it is worth scraping together the money (or waiting) to get better products or service. But it does not always work though – the curse of the “call centre” or other “outsourced” customer service, so that the people who interface between the product and the paying customer are not employed by the company (that makes the product) and have no interest or investment in a resolution.
    Banks are my pet hate but there are many others. (Like you CFR I have never flown Ryanair!)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 3, 2009 by in Current Affairs, Debate.