Neris and India’s Idiot-Proof Diet, How We Lost Ten Stone from India Knight & Neris Thomas

Pig2twig I know, I know.  It’s definitely not crime fiction.

I discovered this book via the Guardian’s recent digested reads.  I read some reviews and articles and thought it sounded refreshing, so I ordered a copy.

And it is refreshing.

It’s also very pink, very girlie and very original in its approach (and with more knickers between the covers than any other book).

Unable to sleep the night before last, I picked it up and carried on reading.  Between the hours of three and four in the morning I was laughing out loud.

But, on the serious side, this is a book written by two women who wanted to lose weight (an amount equal to another person between them) and they did it.  What other books on losing weight can bring you that?  Both have been excruciatingly honest in explaining how they got to <>, before moving on to achieve their goal of ><.

Knight, following a cathartic moment when shopping in Selfridges, decided “enough was enough” and applied herself with a sort of army major alpha male determination and discipline.  Thomas was a seasoned professional on the diet front, having already run the gamut of diets from the F Plan to any plan.  She was up for it, but initially she struggled.

There are tips for self esteem and looking your best, even as you start out.  (Although many of the suggested products may prove expensive for some – just follow the principle and substitute with something cheaper, I guess.)  The diet itself is essentially low carbing.  Knight’s and Thomas’s theme is things can only get better – and the message is delivered to inspire far more confidence than New Labour’s old take on that.

I like the book.  It’s honest and inspiring.  And next week I’m even going to start on the diet.

10 thoughts on “Neris and India’s Idiot-Proof Diet, How We Lost Ten Stone from India Knight & Neris Thomas

  1. Renia

    I am doing this diet right now. On Day 10 and have lost 2 kilos so far. I am not finding it too hard but still desperately want to snack on fruit!

  2. Cathy Bunt

    I think this book and approach is interesting and I certainly have taken on board what it has to say about the benefits of full fat stuff and the absolute absence of redeeming qualities of refined carbs (eg white bread, sugar, potatoes, etc) but I have a big question mark over its narrowness and also overdoing of salt. I felt like a bit of a weirdo being on this diet, and even though I did lose weight on it and had no sugar crashes, I gave it up for a more ‘normal’ diet. So there!

  3. Cathy Bunt

    I think this book and approach is interesting and I certainly have taken on board what it has to say about the benefits of full fat stuff and the absolute absence of redeeming qualities of refined carbs (eg white bread, sugar, potatoes, etc) but I have a big question mark over its narrowness and also overdoing of salt. I felt like a bit of a weirdo being on this diet, and even though I did lose weight on it and had no sugar crashes, I gave it up for a more ‘normal’ diet. So there!

  4. angela

    I picked on this book b/c on the catchy name and decided to try it. I loved the way the women just talk and dont hold anything back in the book. I am on day 9 of this diet and when I checked my weight on day 7, I had already lost 8 lbs. So If i stick to it, I know it will work.

  5. rachel

    i dont know which multivitamin to buy b/c solgar has two options one with iron wich states definitly on bottom of jar no sugar or starch added or onother one with no iron but nothing mentioniong existance nor absence of sugar and starch. and what is the reason not to have iron in it? thanks

    1. crimeficreader Post author

      Rachel, the ‘no iron’ is due to the fact that the diet is considered to have enough opportunity for getting that nutrient and because additional iron can make you constipated; as can the diet itself. I shouldn’t worry too much about getting Solgar specifically, especially if you’re on a budget. Non-branded supplements from reputable sources such as Boots etc are fine – and a lot cheaper. Good luck!

Comments are closed.